Dr. Nishi Suryavanshi Receives Award from ACTG Network

Post Date: 
ACTG Network

The ACTG congratulates the 2021 Tuberculosis Transformative Science Group Special Contributions Award recipients: Nishi Suryavanshi, PhD, from the Byramjee Jeejeebhoy Medical College CRS and Yvetot Joseph, MD, from the GHESKIO Institute of Infectious Diseases and Reproductive Health CRS. This award was developed to recognize the many site team members and investigators that go above and beyond to help implement TB Studies at their sites. The TB TSG recognized there are no current ACTG awards for these individuals and believe it is important to recognize their efforts. Congratulations, Drs. Suryavanshi and Joseph!! 

Last month, the ACTG announced the initiation of A5355, a clinical trial studying a new CMV vaccine in adults with both HIV and CVM. Congratulations to the study team! Read more HERE.

The ACTG applauds the FDA approval of cabotegravir, the first long-acting injection to HIV and congratulates HPTN study leadership & ACTG investigators Raphael Landovitz, MD, Beatriz Grinzstejn, MD, PhD and Mina Hosseinipour, MD who each played leadership roles in these landmark HPTN trials, 083 and 084! The approval of this new HIV prevention option, an injection given once every two months, was based on the results of two large studies that enrolled men who have sex with men, transgender women, and cisgender women. Read more HERE.